SEARCH – 9/3 – Cornerstone beliefs

Due 9/4/14

Humanity is complex and knotted up in beliefs, opinions, influences, biases, and rhetoric. I’d like you to unwind from all these strings and identify four cornerstone beliefs you are able to hang your hat on as of right now. You will place your name in the center (what you go by, including nicknames) and your signature. Then, in each corner write one word and illustrate it to depict what this belief is that is a cornerstone of your person.

beliefs

Once you have the four cornerstones illustrated, choose one to expand on and write about it on the back. Use examples to back up your ideas. We will share tomorrow.

 

Example:

“You know, Mom, I just figured out that I’m not afraid of heights, I’m afraid of falling!” Drew told me as he looked down from the library walk way window. I thought about that as I climbed the extension ladder to the top window to prime it. So many times I had tried to convince myself I wasn’t afraid of heights. At four, I cried as we sat on top of a mountain convinced my entire family was going to fall to their deaths at the hands of height. At eighteen, I willingly jumped out of a plane (with a parachute of course) after writing “Today I’m going to die” on my hand. At twenty three I stopped looking down while on the chair lift, instead focused on the tops of Colorado trees. Double checking the latch on the extension ladder, I ruminated about Drew’s comment and realized, he was right. I wasn’t afraid of some sinister mountain, in fact I love the view from the top of cliffs and ledges. What I don’t like is the stories I create about a freakish gust of wind pushing me over, or a ladder that is seemingly sturdy suddenly shifting and sending me to the slab of concrete below. When I told my neighbor about Drew’s theory, she quantified the argument even smaller. “I’m not afraid of falling,” she smiled, “I’m afraid of landing.” The picture of my brain splattered below caused my chest to clench and my breath to rapid fire, but it isn’t real. That is what fear can do. It can create scenarios that have never happened. Through Drew and DeDe, the meaning of fear as a cornerstone became clear. Fear, once identified, allows people to face it equipped with knowledge. I climbed that ladder and primed that window afraid of the landing that might happen, but focused on what was right in front of me: a job that once done would make Randy’s life easier. My love for him and desire for the house to be finished quelled my fear enough that I could function. I will never curb fear entirely, but I am able to push it aside to do what is important and right. I can make it less of a factor through love and dedication.

join in the conversation

